top of page

Life Surrounded by the ocean

The ocean is home to the majority of life on Earth, including mine. I live on an island in the Pacific Ocean called Ebeye Island. Long ago, my ancestors used to rely heavily on the ocean as a food source, and till this day it still is. My uncles, brothers, fathers, and grandfathers etc. fish from this very ocean in order to feed their family, whether they eat it or sell it. The ocean is also a means for transportation. Every morning I use the ocean as a route to go to school on another island called Kwajalein. The ocean offers me many opportunities. The ocean has opened many doors for the RiKataks and myself. It allows us to shape our future in order to return back to help our community/country. When I mean helping our country, I also mean helping the ocean for future generations to be allowed to have these opportunities that I have. From experience, I learned that the ocean is a window of opportunities.


I believe the Ocean is a blessing.

I believe the Ocean is too neglected by humans.

I believe we depend on the ocean.

I believe the Ocean is a window of opportunities.

I believe we must preserve the Ocean.

I believe we need to clean the ocean.


Although the ocean is significant in many of our lives, not much is being done to keep it healthy. Many marine animals today are becoming extinct. The ocean is vast and would be hard to investigate every part of it, so I’ll be focussing on the ocean surrounding the Marshall Islands and helping my country before moving on to the next big thing. Maybe I might not be able to accomplish much, but future Marine Biology students might be able to build off of the work that I started. With that in mind, I will be recording information in future post about how humans affect the ocean (both negatively and positively), its ecosystems, the life in it, and its physical and chemical properties.

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1000 square ft of coral project

For three days, our marine biology class have worked together to create and begin a coral bleaching project. On our first day of snorkeling, we started off by finding the perfect area in which we wo

Coral bleaching in the Marshall islands

Recently, the Marshall Islands has encountered one of its lowest levels of coral bleaching. While recording data for the amount of bleached corals that were supposed to be counted, our marine biology

Project 1000 sq feet

The Pacific Research Organization has a project called the 1000 square feet, this project to take time and record coral bleaching. The main goal of this project is to let the world know about the prob

bottom of page